Mystery Cookie

I arrive at the office today, expecting to find the most delicious cookie I’ve been eating for the past few months, whoever is doing this amazing favor shouldn’t stop, or it should identity itself; just so I can thank it, and start buying them myself. It’s like this person really knows me, everyday is a different flavor, and it is as if I would have chosen them. At first I was determined to find out who it was; but nobody knew, and nobody saw anything; so I just kept on receiving my secret cookie. And after all the paranoia left, I’ve been looking forward to get here everyday, and find out the flavor of the day.

But as I walk into my office, I notice that instead of the cookie I find this beautiful red rose with a note on top of it that says ‘Look up’; as I look up, there’s a man standing just outside my door, with the same red rose. He walks into my office, uninvited, and I froze. This is definitely the last person on earth I want to see.

This man has devoted his life, to make mine impossible. Ever since we met, in my freshman year in college, he hated me just because I was his girlfriend’s roommate, and since I was a pre-law student, I had to stay in the dorm most of the nights, studying for hours on end. Since they had to be creative as to where to scape to be together, he assumed that I was being selfish and jealous, because instead of a man I had books.

And I didn’t assume any of it, unlike me; he was very explicit and verbal towards the way he felt about me. So of course, I changed dorms and only saw him the day I graduated. I heard they had broken up shortly after I left the room. Of course, since I have no luck whatsoever, he got into law school, my law school. So I couldn’t ignore him as much as I wanted to. His obnoxious presence made me want to throw up, in his tan skin, brown eyes, long nose and thin mouth.

As I remembered all of these, I forgot one thing; apparently he’s the one who’s been sending these cookies, and of course this rose. He just looks at me, as arrogant as ever with his big fake smile.

So I just say – You could have just kept on sending the cookies, trust me, they are way more welcome than your presence.

– Are we going to continue with this? Aren’t we passed the college years already? – he says.

– I don’t know, aren’t we? What do you want? – I say, dismissing him as fast as I can.

– I thought it was obvious, but then I’ve always thought you where smarter than you really are. I want to take you out on a date – he says, simply.

I just stare at him, bewildered; then I laugh, at the obvious joke. He just gives me this serious look I’ve never seen on him before, and he says – What’s so funny?

– Your joke – I say – Why would you even want to date me? You’ve been making my life miserable ever since we met.

– Yeah well… – he scratches the back of his head, looking nervous – I’ve always enjoyed keeping you present, even if it was mocking you. And now that we’ve spent this past year without even seeing each other, I’ve sort of missed you.

– Why should I even believe you? – I can’t wrap my head around the idea that he suddenly had this change of heart, that he just wants to make things ok between us when they never were in the first place.

– Look, I know I haven’t been the nicest guy in the world to you; but you can’t deny that you’ve always seen me around, and it hasn’t been a coincidence.

I still don’t understand, so I just say – What?

– Why is it so hard to believe? I’ve… always liked you, I’ve always paid attention to you, how do you think I know all about your cookies flavors – he says.

 – How come you never said anything before? – I say.

 – Because you’ve never been the one to only have fun with, you’re not a hook up. You’re someone for forever, not just for the moment – he says.

I can’t believe my ears, what? But he seems honest enough, so I can only say – Uuuum, thanks. I honestly never thought to hear this from you.

He smiles, and so do I.

Leave a comment